Waffle toast – Recipes from home

My Dad has never liked waffles, but likes the idea of a waffle – a crispy carb with butter and syrup on top. So instead of waffles, he used to make toast, smash it down with a fork, put butter and syrup on it and eat it like a waffle. My parents one day bought a waffle iron and instead of making waffles, my Dad would just put bread and butter in the waffle iron, squeeze it shut and viola – waffle toast!

IMG_9376

My Dad used to make waffle toast for me as a child and once I could make it for myself, I made it ALL the time. I remember eating it mainly with just butter and I remember it being the best thing ever.  Waffle toast takes what is good about toast – the crispy, crunch, butter soaked part and increases the surface area by indenting the bread, making every little piece a delight. I remember methodically eating it by tearing each little square off, savoring each bite. When I was last home, I of course had to make waffle toast to feed myself and my nostalgia. Pat had also never tried waffle toast, so I had to show him the way.   IMG_9374

IMG_9379
Pat with his waffle toast and fried eggs.

So next time you want a little snack, just pop a piece of bread in the waffle iron and enjoy! The key to making it REALLY good is using way more butter than you think you need. Trust me – you don’t be disappointed.

Waffle toast

Serves: 1
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 3 minutes

2 pieces of white bread, sourdough or any sliced bread
1-2 tbsp butter

Heat up a waffle iron with a tightly space waffle iron plate. Place two pieces of bread, overlapping slightly. Dab with butter on top. Close the waffle iron, cooking for about 3 minutes or until the light goes off on the waffle iron.

Eat straight out of the waffle iron, make with some eggs, or top with more butter and syrup.

One thought on “Waffle toast – Recipes from home

Leave a Reply

